Balance

imageHad one of those great conversations with teen daughter this evening.  Among other (hurtful) topics. She expressed the wish that her parents were other people who happen to be great friends of ours.  It still amazes me how deeply her words cut.  Once in a while I wonder what it would be like if she were more like …  However, I would never wish it and certainly never speak it aloud.

The teenaged kid in the photo above is a family friend.  His little 4th graders won their championship tonight.  Proud moments for many parents.  Do I wish my girl were more like him sometimes?  No way!  But I’m sure glad my boy is a lot like him.  His sweet and kind disposition helps me in those days when his big sister is so harsh.

Leave a Reply

